Kundalini Yoga - The yoga of awareness

Kundalini means "the curl of the lock of hair". This is a beautiful way of defining the flow of energy and consciousness which is present in all of us. Kundalini Yoga practices enable you to unite your individual consciousness with the universal consciousness, creating a "divine union".

Kundalini Yoga places a great deal of attention on the breath which enables the poses and their effects, with the aim of freeing energy in the lower body and enabling its upward movement, with the use of mantras. The exercises are designed to aid you to become more aware of your physical, mental and emotional conditions and to change for a healthier "you". Therefore, Kundalini yoga is often refered to as the 'The Yoga of Awareness'.

Kundalini Yoga consists of simple yogic techniques that can be enjoyed by anyone, whatever the age or physical ability. It is a complete science that includes breath (pranayam), yoga postures (asanas), sound, chanting (mantra) and meditation. It is aimed at giving you the experience of your highest consciousness through the raising of your Kundalini, the latent spiritual energy or "coiled power" which usually rests at the base of the spine. It is often described as being coiled there like a serpent.

What Can I Accomplish with Kundalini Yoga?

Kundalini Yoga can help you to develop a healthier body and a more balanced mind, enabling you to connect with consciousness, your inner wisdom and realise your full potential.

It boosts your vitality and improves your health. It helps you to become more peaceful and deal with the life in a more productive manner.

Benefits of Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini Yoga is a potent and effective system of self-transformation and personal development. Kundalini Yoga stimulates individual growth through systematic techniques for strengthening your nervous system and balancing the glandular system which can improve our stability and vitality. The meditation techniques can enhance mental concentration, sharpen awareness and enable direct experience of consciousness. Kundalini Yoga combines aspects of all yogic systems and methods.

Kundalini Yoga can have many health benefits; it can boost energy levels, enhance feelings of well being and increase productivity levels. Regular Kundalini Yoga practice can make for stronger joints, muscles and spine and can detoxify the entire body, improving the workings of our glands, organs, blood circulation, immune system and nervous system. The yogic techniques and use of mantras help balance both brain hemispheres, providing you with greater focus in your everyday activities.

The body is like a musical instrument constructed of 72 surs (strings). These are controlled by three main surs, the ida, pingala and sushmuna. The upper chakras or energy wheels vibrate with the release of independent thought of the mind and these pluck the string which then vibrates the other surs, which then affects your physical, emotional and mental bodies.

Chakra Basics

  • There are 7 chakras in the body plus 1 aura; 3 lower and 3 upper and the heart which links them
  • The lower 3 chakras focus on elimination and reduction and the upper triangle accumulates, creates and refines
  • The first 5 chakras are associated with five tattvas, that is, earth, fire water, air and ether and upper 3 to subtle realms.
  • Prana powers the chakras. Kundalini Yoga clears the blocks so energy flows freely. Kundalini Yoga facilitates the balancing and clearing of the chakras to assist healthy functioning of body, mind and spirit
  • The chakras affect perception, feelings, choice, flow of thoughts, emotions and behavioural patterns.

The five body centres roughly correspond to the key areas of the spine. One of the centres is located in the area of the tailbone. The second centre is in the area of the sacrum. The third is located in the spinal cord, at the back of the navel. The fourth is the heart centre and the fifth centre is the throat centre, found inside the spine at the base of the neck, directly at the back of your collar button.

The two other centres are in your head. The sixth centre is in your forehead, at the point half an inch above where your eyebrows meet. It is known as "the third eye." The seventh centre is at the crown of your head, known as "dasam duar". This is deemed as the key source of spiritual light and energy which infuses your entire being. There is also the aura chakra.

With Kundalini Yoga, it is best not to concentrate on these centres or meditate on any of them without the aid of a teacher as over-stimulation of a centre can trigger pain, confusion or intense desires. It is vital that you have a teacher for this kind of yoga.

Many people live on just three levels of consciousness, the material, sensual, and egotistical, without experiencing higher states of consciousness. Kundalini Yoga, undertaken with a qualified teacher, can be a highly worthwhile for your overall wellbeing.

Who is able to Practise Kundalini Yoga?

Anyone can practise Kundalini Yoga. Should you have a physical impediment, and are unable to sit on the floor; you will be enabled to follow the exercises sitting on a chair.

Classes are usually available to anyone aged over 14.